Project: various…

SAMSUNGI’ve been a little A.D.D. this week & ended up with 3, no… 4, half-finished projects :/

My spare room currently looks as though a decorating store has thrown up in it!

Although, by the time I finish this post, the paint on that mirror may have dried enough to sand & hang it. We’ll see…

SAMSUNGIn the meantime, the first semi-finished project is a photo frame that has been on the landing for a while now.

A charity shop find, it’s in good knick but I knew I wanted to fix it up a bit.

The hallway, landing & stairs are meant to become a little ‘NOLA eclectic’, and I’d seen some painted furniture that I liked the effect of, so I thought I’d try something similar. Thankfully, I have a bunch of different tester pots that I could play around with…

 

SAMSUNGI masked the frame off into thirds and painted the top & bottom areas in contrasting colours.

The only thing I’m waiting on now, other than to actually put photos in it, is to make some letter stencils.

I want to print ‘FAMILY’ down the side in black paint, but haven’t got the stencil yet. I have, however, found a brilliant website which offers free (some chargeable) fonts, so I’m going to print my favourite out on card & use that.

Hopeful photos next week.

The other projects include a half finished cushion cover – I’ve inherited my mum’s old Singer sewing machine & just need to figure out …everything about it first.

thSOT9GQEIThe plank of wood in that first picture is actually an old drawer front. You know when those MDF chests of drawers just fall apart (bases fall out etc), well I decided to repurpose mine. It’s the perfect size for above a door, or on the stairs.

I’d bought my sister this sign a few years back as a present, and always wanted one of my own (maybe not exactly the same quote – but you get the idea).

So…we’ll see next week if I manage to finish any, or all, of these.

Fingers crossed x

1 thought on “Project: various…

  1. Pingback: Time for a catch up… | nolavstheworld

Leave a comment